The following should provide answers the most common questions. Let us know if we missed any.
Sixteen-Ball
Do players lag to break?
    Yes.
    
    See
    The Break
    in
    How to play Sixteen-Ball
    or
    §5 The Break
    in
    Official Rules.
  
Must I pocket partner balls for any sunk on the break right away?
    No!
    
    Balls pocketed on the break or in addition to the called ball (i.e. target ball) are designated pending partners. Each is worth two points (because they complete a pair). Pending partner balls may be pocketed at any time during the shooters turn, including in the middle of a pair.
    
    Unpocketed pending partner balls become rogue when the breaker's turn ends.
    
    See
    The Break
    in
    How to play Sixteen-Ball
    or
    §5.2 Legal Break Shot
    in
    Official Rules.
  
What makes a shot legal?
    A legal shot is one in which a valid object ball is pocketed as called.
    
    An object ball is valid as long as it doesn't begin a new pair and is the required target ball, a pending partner ball, or a rogue ball.
    
    None of the following effect the legality of a shot:
    - What ball is hit first
    - If other balls are pocketed at the same time
    - Which ball is pocketed first (the object ball or another ball)
    - Whether the 8-ball is used as part of a combination shot
  
What balls can be hit first in a shot?
Any ball may be struck first, including the 8-ball.
What does it mean if another ball is pocketed before the called ball?
    Order doesn't matter. As long as the object ball is pocketed as called, it is a legal shot.
    
    See the Scoring FAQ for information about scoring.
  
I just pocketed the called ball and another ball at the same time. What does thatr mean?
Well done! As long as the object ball is pocketed as called, it is a legal shot. The partner ball of any additional balls pocketed are considered pending partner balls. They can be pocketed at any time during your turn, including in the middle of a pair. Each immediately scores two points.
When can the 8-ball be called?
    The 8-ball can only be called when all other balls have been pocketed.
    
    If the 8-ball is pocketed in a shot that fouls, two points are awared to the opponent.
    
    If the 8-ball is pocketed in a legal shot with the called ball, it scores two points for the shooter.
    
    The 8-ball is only replaced when all balls are reracked after a foul on the break.
  
May I move the cue ball after the last ball in the rack has been pocketed?
    No!
    
    As in straight pool, the cue ball remains in place for the next break. Moving the cue ball after the final shot is a foul.
    
    See
    The Break
    in
    How to play Sixteen-Ball
    or
    §5.3. Subsequent Breaks
    in
    Official Rules.
  
Scoring
This FAQ covers common scoring questions when using the Sixteen-Ball app. See the Sixteen-Ball app page for instructions on downloading and using it.
Do I need to enter every shot?
    Yes.
    
    Each shot needs to be entered, the called ball first.
  
What happens if a player scratches on the break?
    Double tap any ball, even if none were pocketed, to mark the shot as a foul.
    
    End the turn and the break will automatically move to the next player.
  
How do I mark a ball that was not pocketed as called?
    Pocketing the wrong ball or a ball in the wrong pocket is a foul.
    
    Double tap the first ball in the shot (i.e. the called ball) to indicate that the shot is a foul. As such, all balls in the shot will be marked dead. They are removed from the table and don't count toward earning points.
    
    Dead balls are darkened and have a red line through them.
  
How do I enter a foul that pockets more than one ball?
    Select the called ball, which fouled. Tap it again to mark it dead, which is a foul. It will be dimmed and have a red line through it.
    
    Once the called ball is dead, select any other balls that were pocketed in the same shot. Each will be highlighted in red, indicating they are part of the same foul.
  
How do I enter a foul that pockets the wrong balls?
    If a shot fouls by pocketing the wrong ball or balls, double tap any pocketed ball, which will mark it dead with a red line through it.
    
    Once the first ball is dead, select any other balls that were pocketed in the same shot. Each will be highlighted in red, indicating ther are part of the same foul.
  
What should I do if a ball other than the called ball is pocketed first?
The order in which balls are physically pocketed doesn't matter. However, to record shots always select the called ball first and then select any additional balls that were pocketed.